CONTENTS
Introduction
When you go to do an End Of Session at closing time, after entering your amounts of float, cash, card etc, you may see these four choices:
For the majority of retailers, pressing DECLARE NOW is the right thing to do here, simply because it’s the least timeconsuming way to cash up. However, it’s not unheard of for users to press one of the DECLARE IN BACKOFFICE buttons by mistake – and if you do that, there are some extra steps you’ll need to carry out in back office mode before the day is considered properly ‘ended’.
This Quick Reference Guide (QRG) will walk you through what to do in this situation.
Till
- Enter your PIN number once more, then tap
Manager option, followed by Log off till.
You’ll be taken back to the Username and Password prompt.
- Enter your credentials and select Login
Back Office
You’re now in the back office mode.
- Click into the Sales menu.
- Scroll down to the Till Sessions section and select Session Declaration/ Banking.
Somewhere on this screen, you should see an orange row looking something like this one.
This represents the trading session which you’re trying to cash up.
Note: check the ‘Started @’ and ‘Ended @’ columns; it should show the opening and closing date/time for the till.
- Click the blue Serial # button.
You should now see a ‘Declare Till Session’ screen, in which you’re prompted to enter amounts of Cash GBP, Cheque, Card etc. You’ll need to enter amounts here in a similar way to how you normally would on the till screen.
- Work your way down and fill in all the fields as appropriate.
- Click Declare at the bottom when you’re finished.
Note: be careful. You only get one try at entering this; once you click Declare, you’re committed!
You will now see a ‘Declaration Summary’ table, telling you by how much the amounts you just declared differed from what the till expected.
- Click Back to list at the bottom left.
You’ll now be back on the Session Declaration / Banking screen, and the orange row should have turned green.
Just above that row, do you see an End Day link, like the one pictured above? If so, ▪ click it.
If not,
- click the Logout option at the top left.
This will take you back to the “Username/Password” prompts.
The till can be left on that screen overnight.
Note: It’s recommended that you leave the cash drawer open and empty overnight. Your till being visibly empty will deter break-ins.
Comments
0 comments
Please sign in to leave a comment.